Logo de TurtleTablet

TurtleTablet

FR
EN

What is TurtleTablet?

TurtleTablet is a collaborative game to learn the basic concepts of computer programing.

A game for middle school students but not only

TurtleTablet was initially designed for middle school students but it can be used by anyone who wants to learn the basics of computer programming.

The stupid robot game principal

The players need to move paws on a grid, by following the instructions of the program on the screen. The game indicates the instructions that were executed correctly, in real-time, thus allowing the players to understand the principals of how a computer executes a program. Each time the pawn moves, it draws a line that creates a drawing little by little (in reference to the Logo turtle). The fact that the total number of errors are summed up and the fact that you can unblock animations encourages the players to think before acting!

A collaborative game

TurtleTablet is designed for a team of two players. Collaboration is particularly important to motivate learners and give them an inspiring first experience in computer science.

Innovative interactions

In order to support collaboration between the players, the game can be played with physical objects (tangible objects) that are recognized by the tablet’s screen. This innovative interaction, developed by researchers, has a positive impact on the motivation, collaboration and learning of students. Students can build their own tangible objects, with a 3D printed and conductive paint or simply with cardboard and aluminium by following the construction guide.

A free game

The game is available for free on Android tablets, smartphones, Windows computers and interactive tables.

The basics of computer programming

TurtleTablet gradually introduces the following notions:

  • Coding conventions (the way the code is written with specific vocabulary and grammar)
  • Change of spatial reference system
  • Angle rotations
  • Variables
  • Conditions
  • Loops
  • Nested instructions

TurtleTablet last approximately 1 hour. It can, therefore, be used during a 1.5-hour session (or two 1-hour sessions), ideally followed by a session during which the concepts seen in the game are discussed. The game progressively introduced the following concepts:

Download the game

TurtleTablet was developed by researchers of LIUM - Laboratoire Informatique de l’Université du Mans – who specialize in Technology Enhanced Learning. The application is available, free of charge.

If you wish to use this tool in your class

We simply ask you to inform us be send an email to . We can provide you with the teacher’s guide, that we have co-written with pilot teachers who have tested the application. This document will help you use the game to its full educational potential. In exchange, we hope you will be willing to answer a short feedback questionnaire that will be very useful for our research. Any suggestions to improve the game are also welcome.

1Tablet

Interactions with tangible objects

If you want to benefit from the full potential of collaboration, we encourage you to play the game with tangibles objects. Follow the guide to print the objects with a 3D printer and cover them with conductive pain or simply build them with cardboard and aluminium.

Tutoriel : Jouer avec les pièces tangibles
Tactile interactions
Tutoriel : Jouer avec les interactions tactiles

The game also works with tactile interactions. Each player moves one pawn with his/her finger. Make sure to respect each player’s turn in order to support full collaboration.

2Computer

élève qui utilise TurtleTablet sur son ordinateur

TurtleTablet is also available on Windows computer. The pawns are manipulated with the mouse and the arrows on the keyboard. If your computer has a tactile screen, you can also use the tactile mode of the game.

3Interactive Table

Interactions with tangible objects

A version of TurtleTablet with tangibles objects is also available for interactive tables (similar to Promethean). This version is planned for three players. Follow the guide to print out the objects with a 3D printer.

Tutoriel : Jouer avec les pièces tangibles
Tactile interactions
Tutoriel : Jouer avec les interactions tactiles

You can also use the tactile mode on all types of Windows interactive tables. It is also possible to install the latest version for computers, made for two players.

Partner

We thank our partner Volumique for their API that allows tangibles objects to be recognized on tablets.

logo de volumique

Logo de TurtleTablet

TurtleTablet

EN
FR

TurtleTablet, qu'est-ce que c'est ?

TurtleTablet est un jeu collaboratif pour apprendre les bases de la programmation informatique.

Un jeu pour les collégiens mais pas seulement

TurtleTablet est initialement prévu pour les collégiens, mais il peut aussi être utilisé pour tout type de public voulant s’initier à la programmation.

Le principe du jeu du robot idiot

Les joueurs doivent déplacer des pions sur une grille, en exécutant les instructions d’un programme qui est affiché à l’écran. Le jeu indique les instructions effectuées correctement en temps réel, permettant ainsi aux joueurs de bien comprendre le principe de l’exécution d’un programme informatique. À chaque déplacement, les pions laissent une trace qui dessine progressivement le contour d’un animal (hommage à la tortue Logo). Un compteur d’erreur et des animations surprises encouragent les joueurs à réfléchir avant d’agir !

Un jeu collaboratif

TurtleTablet est conçu pour être joué à deux. La collaboration est particulièrement importante pour motiver les apprenants et leur donner toutes les chances de vivre une première expérience enrichissante de l’informatique.

Des interactions innovantes

Pour favoriser une réelle collaboration entre les joueurs, le jeu peut être joué avec deux objets physiques (pièces tangibles) reconnus sur l’écran de la tablette. Ce mode d’interaction innovant, issus de la recherche, a un effet bénéfique sur la motivation, la collaboration et l’apprentissage des élèves. Ces objets peuvent être fabriqués par les élèves eux même, avec une imprimante 3D et de la peinture conductrice ou avec du carton et de l’aluminium en suivant les guides de construction.

Un jeu gratuit

L’application est disponible gratuitement sur tablette ou smartphone Android, ordinateur et tables interactives.

Les concepts de base de la programmation

TurtleTablet introduit progressivement les notions suivantes :

  • Convention de codage (façon d’écrire le code avec un vocabulaire et une grammaire spécifiques)
  • Changement de référentiel spatial
  • Angles de rotation
  • Variables
  • Conditions
  • Boucles
  • Imbrication d'instructions

TurtleTablet dure environ 1h. Il peut donc être utilisé lors d’une session d’1h30 (ou deux séances d’1h), idéalement suivi d’une autre séance pendant laquelle les concepts vus pendant le jeu sont retravaillés.

Télécharger le jeu

TurtleTablet est un jeu issu des travaux de recherche du Laboratoire Informatique de l’Université du Mans, dont l’une des spécialités est la conception d’outil numérique pour la formation.

L’application est mise à disposition gratuitement.

Si vous souhaitez utiliser le jeu en classe

Si vous souhaitez utiliser cet outil avec votre classe, nous vous demandons simplement de nous en informer en envoyant un mail à . Nous pourrons vous envoyer un livret pédagogique, co-écrit avec des enseignants pilotes qui ont testé l’application, pour vous aider à utiliser le jeu pour attendre les objectifs pédagogiques fixés par le programme scolaire. En échange, nous espérons que vous prendrez le temps de répondre à un petit questionnaire de retour d’expérience, qui sera très utile à nos recherches. Toutes suggestions d’améliorations sont aussi les bienvenues.

1Tablette

Interactions avec des objets tangibles

Si voulez bénéficier des effets bénéfiques d’une réelle collaboration, nous vous conseillons de jouer avec les objets tangibles. Suivez le guide pour imprimer vos pièces avec une imprimante 3D et les peindre avec de la peinture conductrice ou pour les construire avec du carton et de l’aluminium.

Illustration de deux élèves qui utilisent TurtleTablet sur une tablette avec les objets Tutoriel : Jouer avec les pièces tangibles
Interactions tactiles
Illustration de deux élèves qui utilisent TurtleTablet sur une tablette Tutoriel : Jouer avec les interactions tactiles

Le jeu fonctionne aussi avec des interactions tactiles Chaque joueur bouge son pion. Respectez bien le tour de chacun pour favoriser la collaboration.

2Ordinateur

Illustration d'une élève qui utilisent TurtleTablet sur un ordinateur

TurtleTablet est également disponible sur ordinateur Windows. Les pions sont manipulés à l’aide de la souris et des flèches directionnelles du clavier Si votre ordinateur dispose d’un écran tactile, vous pouvez également utiliser ce mode de jeu.

3Table interactive

Interactions avec des objets tangibles

Une version de TurtleTablet avec des objets tangibles est disponible pour les tables interactives (type Promethean). Cette version est prévue pour trois joueurs. Suivez ce guide pour imprimer les pièces tangibles avec une imprimante 3D.

Illustration de trois élèves qui utilisent TurtleTablet sur une table interactive avec les objets Tutoriel : Jouer avec les pièces tangibles
Interactions tactiles
Illustration de trois élèves qui utilisent TurtleTablet sur une table interactive Tutoriel : Jouer avec les interactions tactiles

Vous pouvez également utiliser le mode tactile sur tous les autres types de tables interactives Windows. Il est également possible d’installer la dernière version de TurtleTablet pour ordinateur pour deux joueurs.

Notre partenaire

Nous remercions notre partenaire Volumique de nous avoir fourni l’API qui permet la reconnaissance des objets tangibles sur les tablettes.

logo de volumique